Annals of the Entomological Society of America

 

 

Online Edition

Contents and PDF Reprints (1997-1998)

Publish with ESA (Information for Contributors)

Advertise in this publication

2014 Subscription Order Form (PDF)

Subscription Policies

Buy Back Issues (Print)

Annals of the Entomological Society of America is published in January, March, May, July, September, and November.  Annals especially invites submission of manuscripts that integrate different areas of insect biology, and address issues that are likely to be of broad relevance to entomologists. Articles also report on basic aspects of the biology of arthropods, divided into categories by subject matter: systematics; ecology and population biology; arthropod biology; arthropods in relation to plant diseases; conservation biology and biodiversity; physiology, biochemistry, and toxicology; morphology, histology, and fine structure; genetics; and behavior.

Call for Papers in Integrative and Comparative Insect Biology
Authors are encouraged to submit manuscripts that contribute to the development of trans-disciplinary theory that would be of interest to entomologists from different areas of specialization. Annals  also solicits collections of articles from groups of scientists who are able to present up-to-date review and current research in a field of common interest (for an example, please see the Special Feature in Vol. 104 number 6, 2011, pp. 1029–1148). Ideas for group submissions may be submitted directly to the Editor-in-Chief, Lawrence Hurd: hurdl@wlu.edu. All manuscripts are subject to peer review. Accepted papers for Special Features are eligible for waiver of page charges and free open access online.

In addition to research papers, Annals publishes Letters to the Editor, interpretive articles in a Forum section, and editor-solicited Review Articles. The same publication guidelines apply to all types of articles. For more detailed instructions concerning the preparation and submission of manuscripts, consult the ESA Style Guide. The Editor-in-Chief welcomes suggestions for review article topics and authors.

The journal has an Editor-in-Chief and Subject Editors who are volunteers from among the ESA membership. The Editor-in-Chief applies for the position and is appointed by the ESA Governing Board based on a recommendation from the journal's editorial board. Subject Editors are recommended by the Editor-in-Chief and approved by the journal's editorial board. The usual term for editors is five years with an option for renewal. Editors are responsible for the review and acceptance or rejection of manuscripts submitted for publication and can recommend changes in editorial style and policies.

See below for the journal's editors and editorial board.

Editor-in-Chief:

Lawrence E. Hurd
Department of Biology
Washington & Lee University
Lexington, VA 24450
Phone: (540) 458-8484
hurdl@wlu.edu

Subject Editors:

Michael B. Blackburn
USDA-ARS, Beltsville, MD
Mike.Blackburn@ars.usda.gov

Carlos A. Blanco
University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
carlos.blanco1206@
gmail.com

Hector Carcamo
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Lethbridge, AB, Canada
hector.carcamo@agr.gc.ca

Michael S. Caterino
Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History, Santa Barbara, CA
mcaterino@sbnature2.org

Christopher Dietrich
Illinois Natural History Survey, Champaign, IL
dietrich@mail.inhs.uiuc.edu

Ashley P.G. Dowling
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
adowling@uark.edu

Lee A. Dyer
University of Nevada Reno, Reno, NV
ldyer@unr.edu

Ann M. Fraser
Kalamazoo College
afraser@kzoo.ed

David J. Horn
The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
horn.1@osu.edu

Joshua R. King
Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, CT
kingjor@mail.ccsu.edu

Gadi V.P. Reddy
Montana State University, Conrad, MT
reddy@montana.edu

Mark A. Sarvary
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
mas245@cornell.edu

Todd E. Shelly
USDA APHIS, Waimanalo, HI
todd.e.shelly@aphis.usda.gov

Vonnie D. C. Shields
Towson, University, Towson, MD
vshields@towson.edu

Allan T. Showler
USDA-ARS Subtropical Agricultural Research Center, Weslaco, TX
allan.showler@ars.usda.gov

Karen R. Sime
State University of New York at Oswego, Oswego, NY
karen.sime@oswego.edu

Allen L. Szalanski
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
aszalan@uark.edu

David B. Taylor
USDA, ARS, Agroecosystem Management Research Unit, Lincoln, NE
dave.taylor@ars.usda.gov

Donald B. Thomas
USDA-ARS Subtropical Agricultural Research Center, Weslaco, TX
dthomas@weslaco.ars.usda.gov

S. Nelson Thompson
University of California, Riverside, CA
nelson.thompson@ucr.edu

Kelley J. Tilmon
South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD
kelley.tilmon@sdstate.edu

Editorial Board:

Please click here for the current Editorial Board of Annals of the Entomological Society of America.

Managing Editor:

Lisa Junker
Entomological Society of America
3 Park Place, Suite 307
Annapolis, MD 21401-3722
Phone: 301-731-4535, ext. 3020
Fax: 301-731-4538
ljunker@entsoc.org

Production Editor:

Lathifah Mohamed-Ibrahim
Journal Production Manager
Cenveo Publisher Services
5457 Twin Knolls Rd., Suite 200
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: 410-691-6998
Fax: 877-705-1381
Lathifah.MohamedIbrahim@cenveo.com

adowling@uark.edu