Journal of Integrated Pest Management

 

Online Edition

Invitation to Publish in JIPM

Access Policies

Publication Fees

Editors and Staff

Publish with ESA

JIPM Style Guide
 

Purpose and Scope of Journal
Journal of Integrated Pest Management is an open-access, peer-reviewed, extension journal covering the field of integrated pest management. The Editors-in-Chief are Dr. Marlin E. Rice of Pioneer Hi-Bred International (formerly with Iowa State University) and Dr. Kevin L. Steffey of Dow Agrosciences (formerly with the University of Illinois).

The journal is multi-disciplinary in scope, publishing articles in all pest management disciplines, including entomology, nematology, plant pathology, weed science, and other subject areas. The editors request submissions of original, extension-type articles about any aspect of pest management in the broadest sense, including, but not limited to, management of pests that affect row crops, forage and grasslands, horticultural crops, forests, urban landscapes, structures, schools, households, livestock and pets, and human health. Articles should be written for one of the four following categories:

1) Profiles: These are biology and ecology profiles for insects pests such as, for example, soybean aphids, emerald ash borers, bed bugs, and others. Profiles will include an insect’s scientific name, description of stages, biology, life history, host plants, potential for economic damage, sampling or scouting procedures, and management and control options. To see an example of a Profiles article, click here.

2) Issues: These articles will focus on emerging integrated pest management issues such as "Transgenic Bt Cotton and Insect Management" or "Prevention and Management of Bed Bugs in Commercial Buildings." Articles will include information on the issue’s relevance, why the issue developed, balanced perspectives on the issue, and possible solutions. To see an example of an Issues article, click here.

3) Recommendations: These articles will contain consensus-based, pest management recommendations on topics such as "Management of Cattle Ticks in the Southwestern U.S." or "Management of the Asian Longhorned Beetle in New England Urban Environments." Recommendations will be based upon the principles of integrated pest management and supported by published research and validation data when available. To see an example of a Recommendations article, click here.

4) Case studies: These articles document and explain the implementation and results of a specific IPM program. To see an example of a Case Studies article, click here.

Intended Readership
The intended readership for the journal is any professional who is engaged in any aspect of integrated pest management, including, but not limited to, crop producers, individuals working in crop protection, retailers, manufacturers and suppliers of pest management products, educators, and pest control operators.


Call for Papers
Journal of Integrated Pest Management is accepting manuscripts for review. Refer to Publish with ESA for information on submitting a manuscript. Publication fees are listed below. All submissions must be made online using the Rapid Review website at www.rapidreview.com.

Click here for an invitation to publish in JIPM.


Access Policies
Journal of Integrated Pest Management is an open access, online-only journal, freely available to anyone. Journal issues are published quarterly, but accepted articles will be posted online as soon as they have been copy edited and proofed by the author.

Publication Fees
To provide open access, Journal of Integrated Pest Management uses a business model in which our expenses—including those of peer review, journal production, and online hosting and archiving—are recovered by charging an article publication fee. This fee is $500 for ESA members and $550 for nonmembers.

See below for the journal's editors and editorial board.

Editors-in-Chief:

Marlin E. Rice
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.
7300 NW 62nd Ave.
PO Box 1004
Johnston, IA, 50131-2940
marlin.rice@pioneer.com

Kevin L. Steffey
Dow AgroSciences
9330 Zionsville Rd.
Indianapolis, IN, 46268-1053
KLSteffey@dow.com

Subject Editors:

John J. Adamczyk, Jr.
USDA ARS KSARC, Weslaco, TX
jadamczyk@weslaco.ars.usda.gov

Gregory Mark Beavers
U. S. Navy, Washington, DC
Mark.Beavers@osd.mil

Carlos E. Bográn
OHP Inc., College Station, TX
cbogran@ohp.com

Casey D. Butler
Syngenta Crop Protection
casey.butler@syngenta.com

Danesha S. Carley
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC
Danesha_Carley@ncsu.edu

Eileen M. Cullen
University of Wisconsin - Madison, Madison, WI
cullen@entomology.wisc.edu

Jeffrey A. Davis
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
jeffdavis@agcenter.lsu.edu

Holly J. Ferguson
Washington State University, Prosser, WA
hferguson@wsu.edu

Larry D. Godfrey
University of California, Davis, CA
ldgodfrey@ucdavis.edu

Dawn H. Gouge
University of Arizona, Maricopa, AZ
dhgouge@ag.arizona.edu

Elizabeth E. Grafton-Cardwell
University of California, Parlier, CA
bethgc@uckac.edu

Rachid Hanna
IITA-Cameroon; c/o IITA-Limited, Croydon, United Kingdom
r.hanna@cgiar.org

Erin W. Hodgson
Iowa State University, Ames, IA
ewh@iastate.edu

Thomas P. Kuhar
Eastern Shore AREC, Painter, VA
tkuhar@vt.edu

Matthew T. Messenger
USDA APHIS Veterinary Services, Alexandria, VA
mmesseng@usa.net

Eric J. Rebek
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
eric.rebek@okstate.edu

Tom A. Royer
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
tom.royer@okstate.edu

Donald A. Rutz
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
dar11@cornell.edu

Christopher Sansone
Texas Agric Extension Service, San Angelo, TX
c-sansone@tamu.edu

Melissa Willrich Siebert
Dow AgroSciences, Greenville, MS
mwillrichsiebert@dow.com

Scott D. Stewart
University of Tennessee, Jackson, TN
sdstewart@utk.edu

Kelly V. Tindall
University of Missouri, Portageville, MO
tindallk@missouri.edu

Donald C. Weber
USDA-ARS Insect Biocontrol Lab, Beltsville, MD
Don.Weber@ars.usda.gov
 

Editorial Board:

Please click here for the current Editorial Board of the Journal of Integrated Pest Management.
 

Managing Editor:

Alan Kahan
Entomological Society of America
3 Park Place, Suite 307
Annapolis, MD 21401-3722
Phone: 301-731-4535, ext. 3020
Fax: 301-731-4538
akahan@entsoc.org