Diversity & Inclusion Committee 2016 Symposium at ICE 2016

Symposium: Connecting with the World's Best Talent: Attracting and Retaining Diverse Entomologists

Friday, September 30, 2016, 1:30 PM - 5:30 PM, Orange County Convention Center - Room W340 A

Organizers: Bill Hendrix, Dow AgroSciences and Gail E. Kampmeier, Illinois Natural History Survey (Ret.)

This symposium was presented during the XXV International Congress of Entomology

 

* 01:30 PM ― Reception

* 02:00 PM ― The importance of diversity and inclusion in the sciences.

Wanda E. Ward, Office of Science and Technology, The White House, Washington, D.C.

* 02:30 PM ― Data-driven decisions: Use of a demographic model to optimize recruiting and retention efforts to enhance diversity in the Entomological Society of America.

Robert N. Wiedenmann (rwieden@uark.edu) & S. Raghu, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR, and CSIRO, Brisbane, QLD, Australia

02:45 PM ― Women as bellwethers of diversity in entomology.

Gail Kampmeier (gkamp@illinois.edu), Illinois Natural History Survey (Ret.), Champaign, IL

03:00 PM ― On discovery, comradery, and disability in entomology.

Richard Mankin (Richard.Mankin@ars.usda.gov), USDA - ARS, Gainesville, FL

03:30 PM ― Break

03:45 PM ― Chasing rainbows with a net: Entomologists breaking LGBT barriers.

Bill Hendrix (wmhendrix@dow.com), Dow AgroSciences, Indianapolis, IN

04:00 PM ― Inclusiveness: Planting, cultivating, and harvesting the insights of a multi-national team.

Scott Hutchins (shhutchins@dow.com), Dow AgroSciences, Indianapolis, IN

04:15 PM ― Cultural shock: Tales of an expat entomologist.

Jessica Gillung (jpgillung@ucdavis.edu), University of California, Davis, CA

04:30 PM ― Attraction of young diverse communities to entomology.

Jessica Hartshorn (jessica.hartshorn@state.mn.us)1 and Molly Darr2, 1Minnesota DNR Division of Forestry, 2Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA

04:45 PM ― Leading to foster diversity.

Michelle S. Smith (mssmith@dow.com), Dow AgroSciences, Indianapolis, IN

05:00 PM ― The Entomological Society Diversity Committee--working to engage more diverse entomologists.

Vernard Lewis (urbanpests@berkeley.edu), University of California, Richmond, CA

05:15 PM ― Panel Discussion

 

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: