Letter from the NCB President

A message from NCB President John Ruberson

Thanks to the many people who contributed to another successful North Central Branch meeting in 2017! Thanks to Past President Linda Mason and to the many committee volunteers, ESA professionals, presenters, competitors, and other attendees for making the meeting informative, enjoyable, and collegial. And an especially big thanks to our outstanding Program and Local Arrangements Committees for pulling it all together. May you all be able to get some rest, now! And thanks to the Hotel and Conference Center folks for making the experience a welcoming and positive one for all of us.

2018 Meeting Coming Fast!

But before we all get too comfortable, we need to look ahead to the 2018 meeting, which is only 9 months away – March 18-21, 2018 – in beautiful Madison, Wisconsin. The meeting will be held at the Madison Marriott West Hotel (room rates per night - $134 for 1-2 occupants, $144 for 3-4 occupants, government rate will be honored for government employees; free parking and free airport shuttle). Please put those dates on your calendar now. 
Other dates relevant to the 2018 meeting of which you need to be aware:

  • Call for symposia – estimated October 1st, 2017
  • Call for contributed papers – estimated November 1st, 2017

Start thinking about symposium and paper topics now, and start putting your ideas together for a submission when the dates roll around. If you have some ideas for the 2018 meeting, please contact the Program Chair, Joe Louis (University of Nebraska) or Local Arrangements Chair, Christelle Guedot (University of Wisconsin). And don’t forget to tell them thanks for their generous service!

2017 Election Results

Congratulations to Bill Ravlin (Michigan State University) on being elected NCB President-Elect for 2017-18, and to Ana Maria Velez Arango (University of Nebraska) on being elected Member-at-Large for 2017-2020. We appreciate all who were willing to serve, whether they were elected or not. Everyone who was nominated was ready and willing to step into the role if elected, and that commitment to serve is what makes our society go.

2017 Mid-summer Elections

Be watching for ballots this summer for the NCB Governing Board Representative (nominees are Gary Brewer – University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Ronda Hamm – Dow AgroSciences; Rob Venette – USDA Forest Service) and NCB Representative to the ESA Certification Board (nominees are Jody Green - University of Nebraska; Neil Spomer – Dow AgroSciences).

Award Winners at the 2017 Meeting

Congratulations to all of our winners! We had a number of deserving award winners at the meeting,- many of whom are noted in the 2017 NCB Meeting Program Book - and there are certainly many more out there for next year, so please think about who you would like to nominate for 2018.

The student award winners at the meeting for this year are:

Graduate Student Scholarship: 
Katie Todd (The Ohio State University)
John Henry Comstock Award:
Kayla Perry (The Ohio State University)
Linnaean Games: 
1st Place, The Ohio State University (team members - James Radl, Robin Bautista-Jimenez, Emily Justus, Adrian Pekarcik; Alternates - Zach Griebenow, Alex Tyrpak; Coach – Joe Raczkowski)
2nd Place, Purdue University (team members - Tyler Stewart, Jennifer Topolski, Aaron Rodriques, Scott Gula; Alternates – Theresa Andrew, Ashari Zain; Coach – Matthew Ginzel)
PhD Student Poster Session I
1st place:  Ashley Yates - The Ohio State University
2nd place:  Priyanka Mittapelly - The Ohio State University
3rd place:  Dariane Souza - University of Nebraska

PhD Student Poster Session II
1st place:  Anthony Hanson - University of Minnesota
2nd place:  Amanda Skidmore - University of Kentucky
3rd place:  Kirsten Roe - Purdue University

Undergraduate & MS Poster Session I
1st place:  Sarah Meierotto - University of Kentucky
2nd place: Hannah Quellhorst - Purdue University
3rd place: Teresa Blader - Iowa State University

Undergraduate & MS Poster Session II
1st place: James Menger - University of Minnesota
2nd place:  Sophia Conzemius - South Dakota State University
3rd place:  Lindsay Overmyer - University of Nebraska

PhD Oral Presentation - Session I
1st place:  Matthew Ethington - Purdue University
2nd place:  Linnea Meier - University of Illinois
3rd place (tie): Todd Johnson (University of Illinois), Ge Zheng (Iowa State University)

PhD Oral Presentation - Session II
1st place:  Carlos Esquivel - The Ohio State University
2nd place:  Dalton Ludwick - University of Missouri
3rd place: Daniel Bush - University of Illinois

PhD Oral Presentation - Session III
1st place:  Tanya Josek - University of Illinois
2nd place:  Josh Gibson - University of Illinois
3rd place:  Rachel Skinner - University of Illinois

Undergraduate & MS Oral Presentation - Session I
1st place:  Jacob Pecenka - South Dakota State University
2nd place: Daniela Pezzini - University of Minnesota
3rd place:  Thorsten Hansen - University of Kentucky

Undergraduate & MS Oral Presentation - Session II
1st place: Jordan Reinders - University of Nebraska
2nd place: Elliot Knoell - University of Nebraska
3rd place:  Brady Hauswedell - South Dakota State University
Triplehorn Challenge: 
1st Prize – Josh Gibson (University of Illinois) 
2nd Prize – Scott Clem (University of Illinois)
3rd Prize – Tanya Josek (University of Illinois)        
Travel Scholarships ($250 each):
Priyanka Mittapelly, The Ohio State University
Kabita Kharel, Purdue University 
Todd David Johnson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Catherine Dana, University of Illinois 
Thorsten Hansen, University of Kentucky 
Tanya Josek, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 
Debora Goulart Montezano, University of Nebraska - Lincoln 
Henry Vu, University of Notre Dame 
Daniel Bush, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Jacob Dixon, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Adam Kranz, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign 
Suresh Varsani, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
Nathan Mercer, University of Kentucky 
Sanjay T. Basnet, University of Nebraska 
Dariane J. Sagaseta De Oliveira Souza, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
Margaret Lund, Michigan State University 
Joshua Caleb Gibson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Sarah Giers, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Jordan J. Reinders, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
Daniela Tamara Pezzini, University of Minnesota 
Jacob Pecenka, South Dakota State University 
Allison Therese Parker, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 
Amanda Skidmore, University of Kentucky

Professional Awards:

Award for Excellence in Integrated Pest Management
Dr. Rufus Isaacs (Michigan State University)
Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension
Dr. Kelley Tilmon (The Ohio State University)
Distinguished Achievement Award in Horticultural Entomology
Dr. David Smitley (Michigan State University)
Excellence in Early Career Award
Dr. Mahsa Fardisi (Purdue University)
Recognition Award in Urban Entomology
Dr. Mary M. Gardiner (The Ohio State University)

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: