Journal of Economic Entomology

 

Online Edition

Contents and PDF Reprints (1998)

Publish with ESA (Information for Contributors)

Advertise in this publication

2014 Subscription Order Form (PDF)

Subscription Policies

Buy Back Issues (Print)

Journal of Economic Entomology is published bimonthly in February, April, June, August, October, and December. The journal publishes articles on the economic significance of insects and is divided into the following sections: apiculture & social insects; arthropods in relation to plant disease; forum; insecticide resistance and resistance management; ecotoxicology; biological and microbial control; ecology and behavior; sampling and biostatistics; household and structural insects; medical entomology; molecular entomology; veterinary entomology; forest entomology; horticultural entomology; field and forage crops, and small grains; stored-product; commodity treatment and quarantine entomology; and plant resistance. In addition to research papers, Journal of Economic Entomology publishes Reviews, interpretive articles in a Forum section, Short Communications, Rapid Communications, and Letters to the Editor.

Short Communications should be prepared similarly to articles; however, the "Materials and Methods" and "Discussion" should be briefer. Total length should be 2,000 words or less.

Rapid Communications should address late-breaking news and extremely time-sensitive material. Submissions are limited to 2,000 words and are assessed higher editorial review charges to cover costs for rapid review and typesetting. Click here for additional information and criteria for submitting a Rapid Communication.

The journal has an Editor-in-Chief, Subject Editors, and Associate Editors who are volunteers from among the ESA membership. The Editor-in-Chief applies for the position and is appointed by the ESA Governing Board based on a recommendation from the journal's editorial board. Subject Editors are recommended by the Editor-in-Chief and approved by the journal's editorial board. The usual term for editors is five years with an option for renewal. Editors are responsible for the review and acceptance or rejection of manuscripts submitted for publication and can recommend changes in editorial style and policies.

See below for the journal's editors and editorial board.

Editor-in-Chief:

John T. Trumble
University of California
Department of Entomology
Riverside, CA 92521-0001
Phone: (951) 827-5624
Fax: (951) 827-5624
john.trumble@ucr.edu

Subject Editors:

Household & Structural Insects
Arthur G. Appel
Auburn University, Auburn, AL
appelag@auburn.edu

Biological and Microbial Control
Julio S. Bernal
Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
 juliobernal@tamu.edu

Arthropods in Relation to Plant Disease
Blake R. Bextine
University of Texas at Tyler, Tyler, TX
Blake_Bextine@uttyler.edu

Field and Forage Crops
Michael Brewer
Texas AgriLife Research, Corpus Christi, TX
mjbrewer@ag.tamu.edu

Biological and Microbial Control
Denny J. Bruck
USDA-ARS, Corvallis, OR
bruckd@onid.orst.edu

Horticultural Entomology
Raymond A. Cloyd
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
rcloyd@ksu.edu

Apiculture and Social Insects
Robert G. Danka
USDA-ARS, Baton Rouge, LA
rdanka@ars.usda.gov

Ecology and Behavior
Nicolas Desneux
French National Institute for Agricultural Research, Sophia-Antipolis, France
nicolas.desneux@sophia.inra.fr

Sampling and Biostatistics
Norman C. Elliott
USDA-ARS, Stillwater, OK
Norman.Elliott@ars.usda.govInsecticide Resistance & Resistance Management

Insecticide Resistance & Resistance Management
Aaron J. Gassmann
Iowa State University, Ames, IA
aaronjg@iastate.edu

Field and Forage Crops
Kristopher L. Giles
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
kris.giles@okstate.edu

Ecotoxicology
Murray B. Isman
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
murray.isman@ubc.ca

Veterinary Entomology
Tanja McKay
Arkansas State University, State University, AR
tmckay@astate.edu

Molecular Entomology
Raul F. Medina
Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
rfmedina@tamu.edu

Medical Entomology
Bradley A. Mullens
University of California Riverside, Riverside, CA 
bradley.mullens@ucr.edu

Commodity Treatment and Quarantine Entomology
Lisa Neven
USDA-ARS, Yakima Agricultural Research, Wapato, WA
neven@yarl.ars.usda.gov

Stored Products
Thomas W. Phillips
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
twp1@ksu.edu

Horticultural Entomology
Cesar Rodriguez-Saona
Rutgers University, Chatsworth, NJ
crodriguez@aesop.rutgers.edu

Ecology and Behavior
Bernard D. Roitberg
Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, Canada
bernard_roitberg@sfu.ca

Household and Structural Insects
Michael K. Rust
University of California-Riverside
michael.rust@ucr.edu

Household and Structural Insects
Jules J. Silverman
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 
jules_silverman@ncsu.edu

Forest Entomology
Diana L. Six
University of Montana, Missoula, MT
diana.six@cfc.umt.edu

Plant Resistance
C. Michael Smith
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
cmsmith@ksu.edu

Forum
John T. Trumble
University of California, Riverside, CA
john.trumble@ucr.edu

Molecular Entomology
John G. Vontas
University of Crete, Crete, Greece
vontas@imbb.forth.gr

Horticultural Entomology
Phyllis G. Weintraub
Gilat Research Center, D. N. Negev, Israel
phyllisw@int.gov.il

Horticultural Entomology
Meron P. Zalucki
The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
m.zalucki@uq.edu.au

Insecticide Resistance and Resistance Management
Kun Yan Zhu
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
kzhu@oznet.ksu.edu

Associate Editors:

Troy D. Anderson
Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
anderst@vt.edu

Peter Follett
USDA-ARS, Hilo, HI
peter.follett@ars.usda.gov

Guy Hallman
USDA-ARS, Manhattan, KS
Guy.Hallman@ars.usda.gov

Lawrence A. Lacey
USDA-ARS, Wapato, WA
llacey@yarl.ars.usda.gov

Joe Louis
University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE 
joelouis@unl.edu

William Moar
Auburn University, Auburn, AL
wmoar@acesag.auburn.edu

Book & Media Reviews Editor:

Jaqueline L. Robertson
LeOra Software, Petaluma, CA
thesmokesdude@aol.com

Editorial Board:

Please click here for the current Editorial Board of the Journal of Economic Entomology.

Managing Editor:

Lisa Junker
Entomological Society of America
3 Park Place, Suite 307
Annapolis, MD 21401-3722
Phone: 301-731-4535, ext. 3020
Fax: 301-731-4538
ljunker@entsoc.org

Production Editor:

Lathifah Mohamed-Ibrahim
Journal Production Manager
Cenveo Publisher Services
5457 Twin Knolls Rd., Suite 200
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: 410-691-6998
Fax: 877-705-1381
Lathifah.MohamedIbrahim@cenveo.com