Journal of Medical Entomology

 

Online Edition

Contents and PDF Reprints (1998)

Publish with ESA (Information for Contributors)

Advertise in this publication

2014 Subscription Order Form (PDF)

Subscription Policies

Buy Back Issues (Print)

Buy Back Issues Archive (Online)

Journal of Medical Entomology is published bimonthly in January, March, May, July, September, and November. The journal publishes reports on all phases of medical entomology and medical acarology, including the systematics and biology of insects, acarines, and other arthropods of public health and veterinary significance.

The journal is divided into the following sections: Morphology, Systematics, Evolution; Sampling, Distribution, Dispersal; Development, Life History; Population and Community Ecology; Behavior, Chemical Ecology; Population Biology/Genetics; Molecular Biology/Genomics; Neurobiology, Physiology, Biochemistry; Vector Control, Pest Management, Resistance, Repellents; Arthropod/Host Interaction, Immunity; Vector/Pathogen/Host Interaction, Transmission; Vector-Borne Diseases, Surveillance, Prevention; Direct Injury, Myiasis, Forensics; Modeling/GIS, Risk Assessment, Economic Impact. In addition to full-length research articles, the journal publishes interpretive articles in a Forum section, Short Communications, Rapid Communications, and Book Reviews.

Short Communications should be prepared similarly to articles; however, the "Materials and Methods" and "Discussion" should be briefer. Total length should be 2,000 words or less.

Rapid Communications should address late-breaking news and extremely time-sensitive material. Submissions are limited to 2,000 words and are assessed higher editorial review charges to cover costs for rapid review and typesetting. Click here for additional information and criteria for submitting a Rapid Communication.

The journal has an Editor-in-Chief and Subject Editors who are volunteers from among the ESA membership. The Editor-in-Chief applies for the position and is appointed by the ESA Governing Board based on a recommendation from the journal's editorial board. Subject Editors are recommended by the Editor-in-Chief and approved by the journal's editorial board. The usual term for editors is five years with an option for renewal. Editors are responsible for the review and acceptance or rejection of manuscripts submitted for publication and can recommend changes in editorial style and policies.

See below for the journal's editors and editorial board.

Editor-in-Chief:

Walter J. Tabachnick
Florida Medical Entomology Lab, Vero Beach, FL
wjt@mail.ifas.ufl.edu

Subject Editors:

Theodore G. Andreadis
Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven, CT
theodore.andreadis@ct.gov

Roberto Barrera
CDC, San Juan, PR
rbarrera@cdc.gov

Lyric C. Bartholomay
Iowa State University, Ames, IA
lyricb@iastate.edu

Brenda T. Beerntsen
University of Missouri-Columbia
BeerntsenB@missouri.edu

Jason H. Byrd
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
jhbyrd@ufl.edu

Gary G. Clark
USDA, Gainesville, FL
gary.clark@ars.usda.gov

Jonathan F. Day
University of Florida, Vero Beach, FL
jfda@gnv.ifas.ufl.edu

Lane D. Foil
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
lfoil@agctr.lsu.edu

Howard S. Ginsberg
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, Kingston, RI
howard_ginsberg@usgs.gov

Jeremy S. Gray
University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin, Republic of Ireland
jeremy.gray@ucd.ie

Ricardo E. Gürtler
Universidad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina
gurtler@ege.fcen.uba.ar

Richard N. Johnson
Uniformed Services University
richard.n.johnson@us.army.mil

Phillip E. Kaufman
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
pkaufman@ufl.edu

Uriel Kitron
University of Illinois, Urbana, IL
ukitron@uiuc.edu

Shirley Luckhart
University of California Davis
sluckhart@ucdavis.edu

Timothy J. Lysyk
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Lethbridge Research Center, Lethbridge, AB, Canada
lysyk@em.agr.ca

Roger D. Moon
University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN
rdmoon@tc.umn.edu

Douglas E. Norris
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD
dnorris@jhsph.edu

William K. Reisen
Center for Vectorborne Diseases, University of California Davis, Davis, CA
arbo123@pacbell.net

Scott A. Ritchie
Queensland Health, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
scott.ritchie@jcu.edu.au

William E. Walton
University of California Riverside, Riverside, CA
william.walton@ucr.edu

Guiyun Yan
University of California, Irvine, CA
guiyuny@uci.edu 

Note: All of the editors are serving in their personal capacity. The views expressed are their own and do not necessarily represent the views of the organization they are affiliated with.

Editorial Board:

Please click here for the current Editorial Board of the Journal of Medical Entomology.

Managing Editor:

Alan Kahan
Entomological Society of America
3 Park Place, Suite 307
Annapolis, MD 21401-3722
Phone: 301-731-4535, ext. 3020
Fax: 301-731-4538
akahan@entsoc.org

Production Editor:

Lathifah Mohamed-Ibrahim
Journal Production Manager
Cenveo Publisher Services
5457 Twin Knolls Rd., Suite 200
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: 410-691-6998
Fax: 877-705-1381
Lathifah.MohamedIbrahim@cenveo.com