SEB Award for Excellence in Integrated Pest Management

This award recognizes and encourages outstanding contributions to integrated pest management in North America and U.S. possessions. Recipients of this award are nominated for the ESA Award for Excellence in Integrated Pest Management.

Eligibility: Nominations for this award may be made by any ESA-SEB member or unit administrator in the SEB region. Members of the Awards Committee are not eligible to nominate candidates or receive this award during their terms.  The award will be presented at the ESA-SEB Annual Meeting. The recipient is expected to be present at this meeting to receive the award. 

Nomination Requirements: Individual nominations may be made by any ESA member, but nominations through an ESA Branch are encouraged. Each Branch should submit one new nominee each year. The Branches should select their nominee on a merit basis from a review of recently published work.

Nominations packages for this award must include:

  1. Cover page with the year and name, address, telephone number and email address of nominee
  2. Letter of nomination
  3. Academic record, including degrees, dates and institutions
  4. Brief description of employment and professional experience in IPM
  5. Statement of IPM accomplishments on which the nomination is based
  6. Assessment of the nominee's accomplishments emphasizing work during the preceding 10-year period to be recognized by the award
  7. Professional activities during past 10 years, including professional society offices and memberships
  8. List of publications and patents during past 10 years
  9. List of scholarly presentations during past 10 years
  10. Related information, including awards and other recognition
  11. Additional supporting information, including no more than three letters of recommendation from professional colleagues 

Copies of some relevant publications written by the nominee that were published during the last 10 years must accompany the nomination. A bibliography of the nominee’s publications during this time period also is to be provided. 

Evaluation Criteria: Nominees/candidates will be judged using the following criteria for a total of 100 points:

1. Research (70 points total)

  1. Recentness of accomplishment (last 3-4 years) (10)
  2. Directly related to IPM (10)
  3. Quality of research (10)
  4. Originality of research (10)
  5. Interpretation of results (10)
  6. Quality of publication upon which nomination is based (10)
  7. Honors, awards, achievements, and recognition (10)

2.Impact of Research Findings (select one, up to 30 points)

  1. Minor (1)
  2. Moderate (5)
  3. Important (10)
  4. Great (20)
  5. Outstanding (30)

Deadline for Nomination Submissions: The ESA SEB Members Award Chair must receive nomination packages by January 30. This deadline refers to receipt of a complete package in a readable format. Therefore, early submission is highly recommended.  All submissions must be placed through the Southeastern Branch Award submission site.

Renomination: Any candidate nominated, but not selected, may be renominated no more than two times within the two-year period after his/her initial submission. Renomination packages will be retained for two years by the awards administrator. Nominators must send a letter of renomination to the awards administrator by the award deadline above. Previously submitted documentation will be used for the evaluation process unless the nominator submits new or updated documents. The renomination e-mail must contain this additional documentation. New or updated documents must follow the electronic submission requirements noted above.

Questions: Email Ryan Kurtz


Previous Winners:

1983 J. R. Phillips AR, Fayetteville 

1984 G. G. Kennedy NC, Raleigh 

1985 R. E. Bry GA, Savannah 

1986 M. L. Laster MS, Stoneville 

1987 J. B. Graves LA, Baton Rouge 

1988 J. C. Moser LA, Pineville 

1989 B. R. Wiseman GA, Tifton 

1989 J. B. Graves LA, Baton Rouge 

1990 J. H. Tumlinson FL, Gainesville 

1991 S. S. Quisenberry LA, Baton Rouge 

1992 T. E. Reagan LA, Baton Rouge 

1993 R. C. Axtell NC, Raleigh 

1994 [No award presented] 

1995 [Candidate from 1994 resubmitted to synchronize SEB with National Society] 

1996 F. Gould NC, Raleigh 

1997 G. Zehnder AL, Auburn 

1998 B. M. Shepard SC, Charleston 

1999 R. G. Luttrell MS, Mississippi State 

2000 D. C. Steinkraus AR, Fayetteville 

2001 D. M. Jackson SC, Charleston 

2002 D. J. Schuster FL, Bradenton 

2003 [No award presented] 

2004 R. E. Stinner NC, Raleigh 

2005 J. F. Walgenbach NC, Raleigh 

2006 N. C. Leppla FL, Gainesville 

2007 D. T. Johnson AR, Fayetteville 

2008 O. E. Liburd FL, Gainesville 

2009 T. J Kring AR, Fayetteville 

2010 J. R. Ruberson GA, Tifton 

2011 H. Y. Fadamiro AL, Auburn; A. M. Simmons SC, Charleston 

2012 D. Shapiro-Ilan GA, Byron

2013 F. Huang LA, Baton Rouge

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: