SEB Recognition Award In Entomology

This award recognizes entomologists who have made or are making significant contributions to agriculture.  The award will be presented at the ESA-SEB Annual Meeting. The recipient is expected to be present at this meeting to receive the award. 

Eligibility: The nominee must be a current ESA-SEB member and have contributed significantly to agricultural advancement through work in the field of entomology.  A recipient of a widely recognized scientific award will not be eligible unless the accomplishment cited as the basis for nomination represents new work. Previous recipients of this award are not eligible. Re-nomination of unsuccessful candidates is encouraged.

Nominations: Nominations for this award may be made by any ESA-SEB member or unit administrator in the SEB region. Members of the Awards Committee are not eligible to nominate candidates or receive this award during their terms.

Award Nomination Information: Nominations must be accompanied by the following information:

  1. Cover page with the year and name, address, telephone number and email address of nominee
  2. Letter of nomination
  3. Academic record, including degrees, dates and institutions
  4. Brief description of employment and professional experience in entomology
  5. Statement of entomological accomplishments on which the nomination is based
  6. Assessment of the nominee's accomplishments emphasizing work during the preceding 10-year period to be recognized by the award
  7. Professional activities during past 10 years, including professional society offices and memberships
  8. List of publications and patents during past 10 years
  9. List of scholarly presentations during past 10 years
  10. Related information, including awards and other recognition
  11. Additional supporting information, including no more than three letters of recommendation from professional colleagues

Evaluation Criteria: Nominees/candidates will be judged using the following criteria for a total of 100 points:

1. Research Contributions (80 points total)

  1. Quality of research (25)
  2. Originality of research (10)
  3. Quality of publications (10)
  4. Evaluation by colleagues, peers, constituents (15)
  5. Impact of research finding(s) on the understanding of the subject (20)

2. Supporting Information (20 points total)

  1. Participation and leadership in honor and professional societies (10)
  2. Awards, honors, and special recognitions received (10)

Deadline for Nomination Submissions: The ESA SEB Members Award Chair must receive nomination packages by January 30. This deadline refers to receipt by the awards administrator of a complete package in a readable format. Therefore, early submission is highly recommended.  All submissions must be placed through the Southeastern Branch Award submission site.

Renomination: Any candidate nominated, but not selected, may be renominated no more than two times within the two-year period after his/her initial submission. Nomination packages will be retained for two years by the awards administrator. Nominators must send a letter of renomination to the awards administrator by the nomination deadline above. Previously submitted documentation will be used for the evaluation process unless the nominator submits new or updated documents. The renomination e-mail must contain this additional documentation. New or updated documents must follow the electronic submission requirements noted above.

Timeline of Notification: The awards administrator will notify all candidates and their nominators with the results of their nomination approximately two months after the nomination submission deadline. 

Questions: Email Ryan Kurtz

AnchorPrevious Winners:

1983 N. P. Tugwell AR, Fayetteville 

1984 D. A. Dame FL, Gainesville 

1985 A. L. Hopkins SC, Florence 

1986 R. C. Axtell NC, Raleigh 

1987 R. C. Axtell NC, Raleigh 

1988 J. G. Leesch GA, Savannah 

1989 J. W. Snow GA, Byron 

1991 R. T. Mayer FL, Orlando 

1992 W. J. Schroeder FL, Orlando 

1993 J. W. Todd GA, Tifton 

1994 H. N. Pitre MS, Mississippi State 

1995 [Candidate from 1994 resubmitted to synchronize SEB with National Society] 

1996 F. M. Davis MS, Mississippi State 

1997 G. G. Kennedy NC, Raleigh 

1998 [No award presented] 

1999 [No award presented] 

2000 D. D. Hardee MS, Stoneville 

2001 [No award presented] 

2002 J. W. Van Duyn NC, Raleigh 

2003 [No award presented] 

2004 L. D. Foil LA, Baton Rouge 

2006 G. D. Buntin GA, Griffin 

2007 [No award presented] 

2008 [No award presented] 

2009 J. N. All GA, Athens 

2010 R. McPherson GA, Tifton 

2011 S. M. Valles FL, Gainesville; W. Hunter FL, Ft. Pierce 

2012 B. R. Leonard LA, Baton Rouge

2013 [No award presented] 

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: