Call for award nominations for the Southwestern Branch

Dear ESA Members of the Southwestern Branch,

As the Chair, and on behalf of the Southwestern Branch Committee on Awards and Honors, I would like to solicit your participation in making nominations of recognition to our fellow branch members.  Nominations for the following awards are being accepted and recipients will be recognized at our next Branch meeting February 25-28, Ramada Palms Hotel, Las Cruces, NM.

Please nominate and have recognized your students, graduate students, colleagues, industry professionals, professors, technical support, and administrators from our branch. The SW Branch has a history of not nominating people even though our branch has some of the most qualified people that deserve the recognition. Here is a synopsis of how the awards can be broken down and how they may be sought after.

Please contact me for any questions with regard to nominations for awards and honors from our society.

Thank you,

J. Scott Armstrong, Ph.D.
Chair, ESA SW Branch Standing Committee on Awards and Honors (2010-2013).
Research Entomologist
USDA-ARS, WPOFC Research Unit
Stillwater, OK 74074

Honors Awards and Scholarships Specific to the Southwestern Branch include:

- John Henry Comstock Award
- The Ta-Que-Ne-Whap Award
- Undergraduate Student Achievement in Entomology Award
(sponsored by the Southwestern Branch of the Entomological Society of America and the Society of Southwestern Entomologists)
- Percival Scientific Undergraduate Entomology Student Activity Award
(sponsored by Percival Scientific, Inc.)
- ESA Professional Awards that are submitted through the Southwestern Branch
(ESA Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension and ESA Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching)

For additional information on these awards please visit