Recognition Award in Medical, Urban, & Veterinary Entomology

Sponsored by S.C. Johnson

This MUVE Award award recognizes and encourages outstanding extension, research, and teaching contributions in urban entomology, defined here in its broadest sense as the study of the biology and control of arthropods found in the home or surrounding landscape. This includes structural and wood-destroying pests and pests of ornamental plants, shade trees, and turf. The award, sponsored by S.C. Johnson, consists of an inscribed plaque and an award amount determined by the interest earned from the endowment. The awardee is presented with the plaque at the MUVE Section business meeting during the ESA Annual Meeting. 

This award was previously the ESA Recognition Award in Urban Entomology.  Starting in 2018 it is required that you are a member of MUVE.

Please select below to find out more on the award:


Submit a Nominee

Nomination Requirements

Evaluation Criteria




Previous Winners

Eligibility -
Each nominee must be a current MUVE ESA member and have contributed significantly to the advancement of entomology through work in urban entomology. A recipient of a widely recognized scientific award will not be eligible for this award unless the accomplishment cited for nomination represents new work. Recipients of this award are not eligible for future nominations.  Industry candidates are not eligible for this award.

Submit a Nominee-
All nomination packages must be submitted electronically to the MUVE Awards Submission Site according to the following specifications:

  • Page Limits – The entire nomination package must not exceed 20 pages total. This include letters of nomination or recommendation and publication lists. This includes anonymous letters of support sent to ESA separately, please factor in these letters into the package length. Packages over 20 pages will not be considered.
  • Letters of nomination must be included in the electronic package, letter of recommendation may be included in the package or submitted *anonymously via e-mail electronically to Printed letters will not be accepted.

  • Only the following file formats will be accepted: PDF (Adobe Portable Document Format), RTF (Rich Text Format), TIF graphic files, or JPG graphic files. Files created on either PC or MAC platforms will be accepted. Please make sure scanned images can be clearly read on a computer screen.

  • Font size for text may not be smaller than 10 point.

  • The nomination site requires a single nomination packet via one PDF file. If you do not have software to merge the documents, please send all of your files to for assistance.

Nomination Requirements -
Nominations may be made by anyone. Nominations packages for this award must include:

  1. CV-Related Items - Nominators must provide a CV which includes the below sections.  For a full listing of what should be included in each of the sections click here.
    • Section 1 - Background Information
    • Section 2 - Research
    • Section 5 - Service
  2. Other Items
    • Letter of nomination
    • Up to three letters of recommendation*
    • Summary of any accomplishments not covered under CV-related items

Evaluation Criteria -
Nominations may be made by anyone. Please note there is a maximum of two self-nominations allowed per year.  Nominations packages for this award must include:

  1. CV-Related Items - Nominators must provide a CV which includes the below sections.  For a full listing of what should be included in each of the sections click here.
  • Section 1 - Background Information
  • Section 2 - Research
  • Section 3 - Teaching
  • Section 4 - Extension/ Outreach
  • Section 5 - Service

Nominees/candidates will be judged using the following criteria for a total of 100 points:

  1. Candidate (60 total)
    1. Leadership and participation in professional activities (10)
    2. Honors, awards, achievements and recognition (7)
    3. Special assignments and committee activities (10)
    4. Service outside of extension, including community activities (7)
    5. Grantsmanship (8)
    6. Recommendation from colleagues, peer groups, etc. (8)
    7. Publications (10)
  2. Program (40 total)
    1. Creativity and innovation of program's concept (8)
    2. Development and educational strategy (8)
    3. Implementation, including publications (8)
    4. Diversity of program's delivery (8)
    5. Evidence of program's impact (8)

Deadline - 
Nomination packages must be received by July 1. This deadline refers to receipt by the awards administrator of a complete package in a readable format. Therefore, early submission is highly recommended. All nomination packets will not be able to be changed after July 1.

Re-Nomination -
Any candidate nominated, but not selected, may be renominated no more than two times within the two-year period after his/her initial submission. Re-nomination packages will be retained for two years by the awards administrator. Nominators must send a letter of re-nomination to the awards administrator by the award deadline above. Previously submitted documentation will be used for the evaluation process unless the nominator submits new or updated documents. The re-nomination e-mail must contain this additional documentation. New or updated documents must follow the electronic submission requirements noted above.

Notification -
The awards administrator will notify all candidates and their nominators, where applicable, with the results of their application approximately two months after the application/nomination submission deadline.


For questions about this award, please contact Vice President Elect - Dana Nayduch

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: