Eastern Branch Award for Excellence in Integrated Pest Management

Previous winners:
Please click here to see a list of those who have previously received this award.

The nominee must be an ESA Eastern Branch member who has made outstanding contributions to IPM. Special consideration shall be given to independence of thought and originality. A recipient of a widely recognized scientific award will not be eligible for this award unless the accomplishment cited as the basis for nomination represents new work. Previous recipients of this award are not eligible for future nominations. 

The top nominee for this award is recognized at the Eastern Branch meeting; nomination packages are then forwarded to the National office to be considered for the Society–level awards given at the Entomological Society of America’s Annual Meeting. 

Nomination Requirements:
CV- Nominators must provide a CV which includes the below sections.  For a full listing of what should be included in each of the sections see (http://www.entsoc.org/awards/cv_template)..

  • Section 1 - Background Information
  • Section 2 - Research
  • Section 3 - Teaching
  • Section 4 - Extension/Outreach
  • Section 5 - Service

Other Items -

  • Letter of nomination
  • Up to three letters of recommendation

Three of the most relevant reprints sent electronically in PDF format or preferably a link to the three most relevant reprints. (Does not count as part of the 20-page limit)

Evaluation Criteria:

Nominees/candidates will be judged using the following criteria for a total of 100 points:

Research (70 points total)

  • Recentness of accomplishment (last 3-4 years) (10)
  • Directly related to IPM (10)
  • Quality of research (10)
  • Originality of research (10)
  • Interpretation of results (10)
  • Quality of publication upon which nomination is based (10)
  • Honors, awards, achievements, and recognition (10)

Impact of Research Findings (select one, up to 30 points)

  • Minor (1)
  • Moderate (5)
  • Important (10)
  • Great (20)
  • Outstanding (30)

Nomination packages must be received by the ESA Awards Administrator via the Eastern Branch Nomination Website by Tuesday January 23, 2018 at 12:00 Midnight. This deadline refers to receipt by the Awards Administrator of a complete package in a readable format.


Any candidate nominated, but not selected, may be re-nominated no more than two times within the two-year period after his/her initial submission. Nomination packages will be retained for two years by the awards administrator. Nominators must send a letter of re-nomination to the awards administrator by the nomination deadline above. Previously submitted documentation will be used for the evaluation process unless the nominator submits new or updated documents. The re-nomination e-mail must contain this additional documentation. New or updated documents must follow the electronic submission requirements noted above. Each Branch is limited to one nomination per year.

Timeline of Notification:
The eastern branch committee chair will notify all candidates and their nominators with the results of their nomination approximately two months after the nomination submission deadline.

For questions regarding the award or nomination process please email John Losey.

Submit a nomination:
Visit the Eastern Branch Nomination Website to submit a nomination.

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: