ESA Governing Board Election Results: Simmons New VP-Elect; Brewer, Alleyne, Ware Earn Positions

Annapolis, MD; August 21, 2017—Dr. Alvin M. Simmons, a research entomologist at the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service, has been elected by members of the Entomological Society of America as the organization's next Vice President-Elect.

He will begin his term as VP-Elect at the conclusion of ESA's annual meeting, Entomology 2017, November 5-8, in Denver, Colorado. He will then serve as ESA Vice President beginning in November 2018, President beginning in November 2019, and Past President beginning in November 2020.

ESA members have also elected three other members to continue or begin positions on the ESA Governing Board:

  • Dr. Gary J. Brewer, professor and head of the Department of Entomology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln: North Central Branch Representative to the ESA Governing Board (re-elected)
  • Dr. Marianne Alleyne, research scientist and lecturer in the Department of Entomology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: Physiology, Biochemistry, and Toxicology Section Representative to the ESA Governing Board (newly elected)
  • Dr. Jessica L. Ware, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Rutgers University-Newark: Systematics, Evolution, and Biodiversity Section Representative to the ESA Governing Board (newly elected)

For more info on the entomologists elected to the ESA Governing Board, see below:

ESA Vice-President Elect

Dr. Alvin M. Simmons is a Research Entomologist at USDA-ARS, U.S. Vegetable Laboratory, Charleston, SC. He received a B.S. in biology (East Carolina University, 1980), and M.S. (1983) and Ph.D. (1987) in entomology (University of Kentucky). Alvin leads two USDA-ARS appropriated projects (one on vegetable IPM and another on vegetable and ornamental research supporting the national IR-4 pesticide registration project), and Alvin is Interim Coordinator for USDA-ARS Minor Use Pesticide Program for Food and Ornamental Horticulture. Alvin’s IPM research notably concerns environmental-bionomics, biocontrol, plant resistance, insect-virus-plant relationships, and biopesticides. READ MORE

North Central Branch Representative to the ESA Governing Board

Dr. Gary J. Brewer is a 40-year member of the Entomological Society of America and has served on many ESA committees and was Secretary and Chair of section Fa, Host Plant Resistance to Insects. His service to the North Central Branch has also included committee service, often as chair, twice as local arrangements Co-Chair, and NCB President in 2004-05. Most recently, he is serving as the North Central Branch Representative to the ESA Governing Board. Other professional service includes Secretary and Chair of CEDA, the Council of Entomology Department Administrators and membership on the Board of Representatives of the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST). READ MORE

PBT Representative to the ESA Governing Board

Dr. Marianne Alleyne is a research scientist and lecturer at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). She received her biology and entomology degrees from UC Berkeley (BA – advisor Dr. Bob Full), UC Riverside (MS – Dr. Nancy Beckage) and UIUC (PhD – Dr. Rob Wiedenmann). Her research covers many areas related to insect physiology, including: host-parasitoid interactions, arthropod sensors, bioinspired materials and robotics. Dr. Alleyne currently leads multi-disciplinary teams of faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students across entomology and engineering. Dr. Alleyne teaches courses in Insect Physiology, Insect Pathology and Bioinspired Design. With an extensive experience in online teaching and learning, she serves as the graduate director for the online Master of Science Teaching Biology in the School of Integrative Biology at Illinois. READ MORE

SysEB Representative to the ESA Governing Board

Dr. Jessica L. Ware received her BSc from UBC in 2001. She received her PhD in Entomology from Rutgers in New Brunswick, NJ, in 2008, where she focused on the evolution of Dictyoptera and Odonata under Dr. Michael L. May. She then had an NSF Postdoctoral fellowship on termite evolution, which she undertook at the American Museum of Natural History with Dr. David Grimaldi from 2008-2010. She began her current position in the Department of Biological Sciences at Rutgers University in Newark, NJ in September 2010; she received tenure in 2016. She served as the president of the SysEB section, and is the current secretary of the World Dragonfly Association. READ MORE

Full election results for leadership positions in ESA's Branches and Sections will be announced soon.

CONTACT: Joe Rominiecki,, 301-731-4535 x3009

ABOUT: ESA is the largest organization in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and people in related disciplines. Founded in 1889, ESA today has over 6,000 members affiliated with educational institutions, health agencies, private industry, and government. Headquartered in Annapolis, Maryland, the Society stands ready as a non-partisan scientific and educational resource for all insect-related topics. For more information, visit