ESA ICE 2012 Travel Award Winners

Lanham, MD; March 28, 2012 -- ESA's Student and Young Professionals Committee recently sponsored a competition for travel grants to the 2012 International Congress of Entomology (ICE) to be held in Daegu, South Korea this summer. The competition was open to ESA members who are undergraduate or graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, or professionals having less than three years’ experience.

A total of $60,000 will be distributed for travel awards to ICE 2012 for airfare, meeting registration, and lodging/living costs during travel.

Congratulations to the following individuals who have won these travel awards:

Alvaro Romero
Andrea Lucky
Ann Ray
David Crowder
David Donoso
Doo-Hyung Lee
Duane McKenna
Elena Ortiz-Acevedo
Elijah Talamas
Eugenio Nearns
Genet Tulgetske
Hojun Song
Jae-Cheon Sohn
James Robertson
Jennifer Zaspel
Jiri Hulcr
Juliane Deacutis
Katelyn Kowles
Michael Crossley
Nicholas Teets
Paul Rugman-Jones
Rebecca Buckman
Sandipa Gautam
Sarah Kocher
Steve Davis

The Entomological Society of America (ESA) is the largest organization in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and people in related disciplines. Founded in 1889, ESA today has more than 6,000 members affiliated with educational institutions, health agencies, private industry, and government. Members are students, researchers, teachers, extension service personnel, administrators, marketing representatives, research technicians, consultants, and hobbyists. For more information, please visit