Candidates for the North Central Branch Election

Elections will be held by electronic ballot and voting will open January 2, 2019 and close February 8, 2019 at 11:59 PM Eastern Time US. For additional information on voting, please refer to the ESA voting instructions.

Contact with any questions. 

President-Elect Candidate

Dr. Mark Boetel received his Ph.D. from South Dakota State University in 1996. He is a Professor of Entomology at North Dakota State University. His program focuses on field crop insect-pest management. Mark is internationally recognized for his sugarbeet IPM expertise. He has authored/co-authored 33 refereed publications and book chapters, about 240 non-refereed publications, and over 200 presentations.  He has procured $4.4 million in funding.  Throughout his 32-year membership, Mark has served ESA in the Audit Committee (current); ESA Treasurer (included Entomological Foundation, Certification Board Treasurer and board membership); Executive Committee, Governing Board; Finance Committee, Section F. Secretary, Vice-Chair, and Chair; Arthropod Management Tests Editorial Board (2006 Chair); and Plant–Insect Ecosystems Governing Council.  He served on ESA standing committees, including Ethics and Rules (two terms); Common Names (two terms); Program; and Student Affairs.  Mark served on the strategic planning group that restructured ESA to its current section format, and an ad hoc committee for attracting undergraduates to entomological careers.  He served as panelist for several ESA and Entomological Foundation awards.  Mark co-organized two ESA meeting symposia, judged student competitions and/or moderated sessions at most NCB and annual meetings during the past 25+ years.  He served NCB-ESA as Secretary-Treasurer; Program Chair (2011); Executive Committee member-at-large; in the Audit Committee (2007 Chair); Student Awards (2003/2004 Chair); Linnaean Games; Local Arrangements (two meetings); and Operations and Standardization Committee (ad hoc).  If elected, Mark hopes to enhance branch responsiveness to changing membership needs and to increase student and early-career member involvement in ESA.

Secretary/Treasurer Candidate

Dr. Erin Hodgson is originally from North Dakota and received her B.S. (Biology) and M.S. (Entomology) from North Dakota State University. She got her Ph.D. (Entomology) in 2005 from the University of Minnesota. Erin worked as an extension entomologist for three years at Utah State University before starting at Iowa State University in 2009. Currently, she is an extension entomologist and associate professor at ISU, and works on IPM of field crop insects. Her extension and research programs improve profitability, sustainability and environmental stewardship in agriculture. In 2013, Erin became the Crops Team Leader for Agriculture and Natural Resources, which is a large group of extension faculty and staff at ISU. Erin regularly attends ESA and NCB-ESA meetings, and has served on several committees: ESA Local Arrangements (2007), NCB-ESA Student Competition and Awards (2011-2013; Chair in 2013), NCB-ESA Local Arrangements (2012-2014; Chair), NCB-ESA Executive (2011-2014; Member-at-Large), and ESA Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension Review (2014-2016). Currently she serves as NCB-ESA Secretary/Treasurer and a subject editor for JIPM. In 2018, she was the recipient of the NCB-ESA Distinguished Achievement in Extension Award and the ESA P-IE IPM Team Award.

Member-at-Large Candidates

Dr. Laura Campbell has a B.Sc. in biology/botany and B.Sc. in horticulture from Northwest Missouri State University.  She received her M.Sc. in 2003 and her Ph.D. in 2009 from the University of Nebraska, both in entomology, specializing on corn rootworm biology. She worked as a research and development intern for Dow AgroSciences for two field seasons.  Laura then worked at Southern Illinois University Carbondale for almost three years, first as a postdoctoral research fellow and then as a researcher in the weed science program.  Her work there included field-scale research on agronomy, entomology, and weed science. She also taught a course on insect pest management. Laura has been a field scientist for Corteva Agriscience (formerly Dow AgroSciences) since 2013, based in southern Illinois.  Her work covers pest management in corn, soybeans, and wheat, and she has helped to coordinate field research on all aspects of pest management.  She has also held a role in Global Tech Education for Corteva Agriscience to develop educational materials for row-crop herbicides.  As a member of the Entomological Society of America (ESA), Laura has regularly attended national meetings to present her research.  Additionally, she has served on the ESA North Central Branch (NCB) Student Affairs Committee (2003-2008) and the ESA-NCB Student Awards Committee (2007-2008).  She has also served as a judge and moderator at ESA and NCB meetings.  Since 2016, she has served as a Member-at-Large on the NCB Executive Committee and is committed to promoting the success of the branch.

Dr. Rob Morrison is currently a Research Entomologist for the USDA-ARS Center for Grain and Animal Health Research in Manhattan, KS, where his current research program involves elucidating the chemical ecology, behavioral ecology, and IPM of stored product insects with the goal of more sustainable management programs. He graduated with his B.A. in biology from Kalamazoo College in 2006. Afterwards, he received his M.S. in ecology, evolution, and systematics from the University of Munich in Germany. In 2014, Rob received his Ph.D. from the Department of Entomology at Michigan State University. His doctoral work primarily focused on developing an integrated pest management program for the asparagus miner. From 2014–2016, Rob was a post-doctoral researcher at the USDA-ARS Appalachian Fruit Research Station where he investigated the chemical ecology, biological control, and IPM of the invasive brown marmorated stink bug, including attract-and-kill. Rob has been highly active in ESA for the past eight years, and has served on 20+ committees for ESA at the branch, section, and national level. He has organized 30+ symposia at ESA meetings, regularly acted as judge for graduate paper competitions, has also judged the EB-ESA Linnaean Games Competition, and frequently publishes in ESA journals. Rob served as the 2017–2018 Chair of ESA’s Early Career Professionals Committee, and is committed to including the voices of all members in ESA’s decision-making process, including underrepresented groups, and ECPs. He is excited for the opportunity to help make the NCB as forward-looking and inclusive as possible.

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: