ESA STEP ICE 2016 Travel Award Winners

Annapolis, MD; December 4, 2015 -- ESA's Student and Early Professionals Committee recently sponsored a competition for travel grants to the 2016 International Congress of Entomology (ICE) to be held in Orlando, Florida. The competition was open to ESA members who are undergraduate or graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, or professionals having less than three years’ experience.

A total of $50,000 will be distributed for travel awards to ICE 2016 for airfare, meeting registration, and lodging/living costs during travel.

Congratulations to the following individuals who have won these travel awards:

Fabio Luiz de Leão Leonel (Brazil)
Gabriela Costa Pinheiro (Brazil)
Diana Catalina Fernández (Canada)
Melanie Lalonde (Canada)
Yanwei Wang (China)
Linda Chininyelum Oforka (Nigeria)
Dulce Santos (Belgium)
Chandra Moffat (Canada)
Jamie Stavert (New Zealand)
Paul Manning (United Kingdom)
Isobel Ronai (Australia)
Emily Johnson Flies (Australia)
Holly Caravann (Canada)
Joanna Konopka (Canada)
Gurion Ang (Australia)
Penelope Mills (Australia)
Eduardo Calixto Soares (Brazil)
Jean Willy Nduwimana (China)
Dr. Louisa Alexandra Messenger (Tanzania)
Dr. Rajeswaran  Jagadeesan (Australia)
Dr. Peter H.W. Biedermann (Germany)
Dr. Amanuel  Tamiru Abamo (Kenya)
Dr. Margaret C. Hardy (Australia)
Dr. Joy AnuriI Anogwih (Nigeria)
Dr. Malkie  Spodek (Switzerland)
Dr. Joel Gibson (Canada)
Dr. Juliana Amaka Ugwu (Nigeria)

The Entomological Society of America (ESA) is the largest organization in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and people in related disciplines. Founded in 1889, ESA today has more than 7,000 members affiliated with educational institutions, health agencies, private industry, and government. Members are students, researchers, teachers, extension service personnel, administrators, marketing representatives, research technicians, consultants, and hobbyists. For more information, please visit