Report From the November 2018 ESA Governing Board Meeting

December 10, 2018

The ESA Governing Board meets four times per year to discuss strategic initiatives, oversee the work of staff and volunteers, and advance new ideas to benefit the Society. A summary of activities is published after each meeting to inform members about board activities and decisions.

The Governing Board met in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, on November 14, 2018. During the meeting, the board heard a report from the 2018 Annual Meeting chairs, a report from Lewis-Burke Associates on the current science policy outlook, and feedback from Section representatives on the recommendations of the ESA Publications Task Force. The board also held a discussion on diversity and inclusion issues with representatives from the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, the Early Career Professionals Committee, and the Student Affairs Committee.

The board also took the following actions:

  • Approved the 2019 ESA budget.
  • Approved further exploration of Phoenix, Arizona’s proposal to host the ESA Annual Meeting in 2024.
  • Requested data for discussion related to a request from the Early Career Professionals Committee to pursue a bylaws change to add an early-career representative to the Governing Board.
  • Updated the structure proposed by the Publications Task Force for the ESA Publications Council to include an elected representative from each Section as well as five ad-hoc appointed members, the ESA vice president-elect, and the ESA vice president. The Sections will have further time to provide feedback on the task force recommendations, including discussions at the 2019 ESA Summer Meeting in St. Louis.
  • Appointed ESA Vice President-Elect Tim Schowalter to serve on the Entomological Foundation Board of Counselors for a three-year term.
  • Approved the reappointment of Annals of the ESA editor-in-chief Larry Hurd and Journal of Medical Entomology editor-in-chief Bill Reisen to new terms, and extended the term of Insect Systematics and Diversity co-editors-in-chief Sydney Cameron and Jim Whitfield by two years.
  • Approved the reappointment of Allan Felsot as subject matter expert and liaison to the Environmental Protection Agency Office of Pesticide Programs.
  • Approved five new ESA common names.
  • Elected two at-large members of the ESA Executive Committee for 2019: Jessica Ware and Chris Geden.

Members with questions about the outcomes from the November Governing Board meeting can contact ESA Executive Director David Gammel at

See past news and updates from the ESA Governing Board.

Minutes from past Governing Board meetings are available online following Governing Board approval.

For more info, visit the ESA Governing Board page.