Candidates for the Southwestern Branch Election

Elections will be held by electronic ballot and voting will open January 15, 2020 and close February 14, 2020 at 11:59 PM Eastern Time US. For additional information on voting, please refer to the ESA voting instructions

Contact with any questions. 

Secretary-Elect Candidates

Juliana Rangel: Born in Colombia, South America, in 2004 Juliana obtained a B.S. in Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution from the University of California, San Diego. In 2010 she obtained a Ph. D. in Neurobiology and Behavior from Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. In 2010-2013 she was a NSF Postdoctoral Research Fellow working with Dr. David Tarpy at North Carolina State University. In January 2013, Juliana became Assistant Professor of Apiculture in the Department of Entomology at Texas A&M University (TAMU) in College Station, TX.  She became Associate Professor in 2018. Her research program focuses on the biological and environmental factors that affect the reproductive quality of honey bee queens and drones, the genetics of feral honey bees, and the quality and diversity of honey bee nutrition.  She is an active member of the Texas Beekeepers Association and has spoken to dozens of beekeeping associations across the USA. She teaches the courses Honey Bee Biology, Introduction to Beekeeping, and Professional Grant Writing. Since 2014 she has been the coach of TAMU’s undergraduate and graduate teams of the Linnaean Games at the branch and national games of the Entomological Society of America (ESA), earning first and second place nationally three years in a row.  She is the past elected chair of the ESA’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee, and currently serves as chair of Entomology’s Graduate Student Forum Committee, the Graduate Admissions Committee, and is chair of the Graduate Student Recruitment Travel Grant.  She was 2014 President of the American Association of Professional Apiculturists.

Dr. Brandon Smythe is a veterinary entomologist that is a Research Assistant Professor at New Mexico State University. He is currently the program manager for the Veterinary Entomology Research Laboratory within the Center for Animal Health and Food Safety.  He has been successful in his early career not only as an early career professional but also as a PhD student who was promoted to his current position while working towards his degree.  During this time, he has garnered more than $1 million in contracted research and has advised undergraduate as well as graduate students.  His supervision over students in conjunction with his work has resulted in 7 peer reviewed publications and over 25 technical reports for industry.  Dr. Smythe’s research has focused on biting fly ecology and pest management within animal production systems. He has established a successful program in veterinarian pharmaceutical parasiticide development. This type of research focuses on proprietary information but Dr. Smythe has been innovative in incorporating original research that answers important questions related to veterinary entomology while conducting these confidential research trials.  His research contributions were recently recognized as the Southwestern Branch Early Career Professional Award in 2019.  Dr. Smythe grew up around the Las Cruces, NM area and is married with children.

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: