Sangmi Lee and Todd Gilligan Join Wedge Board

Dr. Ronald W. Hodges, President of the Wedge Entomological Research Foundation, announced today the addition of two new members of the Foundation’s Board of Directors.  Dr. Sangmi Lee and Dr. Todd Gilligan both accepted appointments to the board.

Sangmi received her Ph.D. under Dr. Richard L. Brown at Mississippi State University with her dissertation entitled “Systematics of Holarctic genera of Teleiodini (Lepidoptera: Gelechiidae).” Sangmi has specialized on Gelechiidae for the past 15 years,

Sangmi becoming one of the foremost experts in this difficult group. Sangmi developed the most comprehensive website on Gelechiidae which includes a global framework for phylogenetics and classification of Gelechioidea. She contributed educational videos on collecting and dissecting microlepidoptera that are available on YouTube.  Sangmi is the Collection Manager of the Hasbrouck Insect Collection at Arizona State University, since 2012, and she serves as a referee to the Moth Photographs Group (MPG) site for identifications of gelechiids.

Dr. Todd Gilligan completed his undergraduate education at Ohio State University and he earned his M xc. in Entomology at Ohio State University.
His Ph.D. dissertation at Colorado State University focused primarily on the systematics and identification of economically important tortricids.

Todd currently works as a Research Scientist in the Department of Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management at CSU. The majority of his research involves producing morphological and molecular identification resources for invasive Lepidoptera in conjunction with the USDA-APHIS-PPQ-S&T Identification Technology Program (ITP) located in Fort Collins.

He received numerous awards for his entomological work, the most notable including CSU’s inaugural University Distinguished Professors Scholarship (2012), the Entomological Society of America’s John Henry Comstock Award (2011), and the USDA-APHIS-PPQ Deputy Administrator’s Safeguarding Award (2011). Todd currently serves as President of the Lepidopterists’ Society,

The Wedge Entomological Research Foundation is publisher of the venerable and award winning series "Moths of North America."