Awards & Honors


Each year the Entomological Society of America and the Entomological Society of America Certification Corporation provide annual honors and awards to recognize scientists, educators, and students, who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to entomology.

Below is a list of the current awards that are being offered.  For additional information on how to nominate someone click on the award name.  To see an overview list of the awards, view the Awards Eligibility Grid.

ESA's Branches also offer a variety of awards for Branch members. For more information on Branch awards, visit ESA's Branches page and select your Branch.

UPDATE: We understand that COVID-19 has caused a disruption to your lives, and may affect your ability to compile a nomination package. To help you during this time, we have extended the deadline for nomination packets for the Founders' Memorial Award and Fellows of ESA. We unfortunately are unable to extend the deadline for Honorary Member nominations due to the approval process needed prior to ESA's Societal elections. View ESA's update on COVID-19.

Awards Deadlines
Honorary Member Awards - March 16
Founders' Memorial Award - Extended to April 16
ESA Fellows - Extended to April 16
ESA Professional Awards, Early Career Awards, and Student Awards - June 1
ESA Certification Corporation Awards - June 1

Professional Awards

Honorary Membership recognizes extraordinary service by ESA members who have had significant involvement in the affairs of the Society for at least 20 years. View previous winners.

Fellows of ESA are individuals who have made outstanding contributions to entomology— via research, teaching, extension and outreach, administration, or the military—and whose career accomplishments serve to inspire all entomologists. They need not be members of the Society. View previous winners.

The Founders’ Memorial Award honors two people at once, giving an entomologist with outstanding credentials the opportunity to present a keynote lecture at the ESA Annual Meeting to showcase the posthumous legacy of a scientist whose work made a significant impact in entomology. View previous winners.

This award, sponsored by Syngenta Crop Protection, shall be made on the basis of outstanding contributions that relate directly to Integrated Pest Management (IPM). View previous winners.

This award recognizes creative entomologist who have demonstrated the ability to find alternative solutions to problems that significantly impact entomology. View previous winners.

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to extension entomology. View previous winners.

The purpose of this award is to honor the role of entomological education as a basis for the entire discipline by recognizing an ESA member who is deems to the most outstanding educator of the year. View previous winners.

Early Career Professional Awards

This grant provides research funds to postdoctoral ESA members who have at least one year of promising work experience, are undertaking research in selected areas of insect control, and have demonstrated a high level of scholarship. View previous winners.

This award honors young professionals working within the field of entomology who have demonstrated innovation through contributions within any area of specialization (research, teaching, extension, product development, public service, etc.). View previous winners.

This award is given to a student transition or early professional who excels in entomological education.  View previous winners.

This award is given to a student transition or early professional who excels in entomological extension. View previous winners.

This award recognizes a student transition or early professional who has made outstanding research contributions to the field of entomology.  View previous winners.

This award honors a student transition or early professional working within the field of entomology who has demonstrated excellence, leadership, and creativity in outreach and public engagement.  View previous winners.

Student Awards

This award encourages graduate students working with insects or other arthropods in the broad areas of physiology, biochemistry, and molecular biology to affiliate with ESA's Physiology, Biochemistry and Toxicology Section and to attend the ESA Annual Meeting. View previous winners.

This ESA award recognizes Dr. Larry Larson's role as a leader and pioneer in insect management and carries that legacy to the next generation of leaders in applied entomology. View previous winners.

Sponsored by Bayer Crop Science, this award will be presented annually to recognize a student for outstanding contributions to the Society, his/her academic department, and the community, while still achieving academic excellence. View previous winners.

These six awards are given to one graduate student from each ESA Branch to promote interest in entomology at the graduate level and to stimulate interest in attending the ESA Annual Meeting.  View previous winners.

Video Contest

Every year, ESA invites entomologists, insect enthusiasts, and both professional and amateur videographers to showcase the world of insect science through video. All entries are showcased on the ESA YouTube Channel, and videos are judged for their creativity, entomological accuracy, sound quality, video quality, and editing. Winning video teams earn cash prizes and are honored at the ESA Annual Meeting.

ESA Certification Corporation Awards

The purpose of the award is to recognize superior contributions of an ACE in the field of structural pest management.  View previous winners.

The purpose of this award is to encourage, recognize, and reward outstanding contributions to the ESA Certification Program and the professionalism of entomology. View previous winners.

This award recognizes and encourages outstanding entomology graduate students with interest in the mission of the ESA certification program. View previous winners.

Visit Discontinued Awards for a list of awards that are no longer being offered.