Herb T. Streu Meritorious Service Award

The Herb T. Streu Meritorious Service Award was established by the Eastern Branch of the Entomological Society of America in 1991 to provide timely recognition of Eastern Branch members for outstanding service to the society. The awardee will be recognized by the presentation of a framed award certificate at the annual meeting of the Eastern Branch of the Entomological Society of America.

Previous winners:
Please click here for a list of those who have previously received this award.

The nominee must be a current member of the Eastern Branch of the Entomological Society of America and must be deemed to have made a significant and positive contribution to the Eastern Branch of the Entomological Society of America. The award will be presented to living members and is not restricted by age or status. Nominations of Eastern Branch members are encouraged from all major divisions and departments of entomology, including academic and experiment station departments, and federal, state and industrial groups, as well as individuals.

Nomination Requirements
Nominations for the award will originate within the Awards Committee of the Eastern Branch of the Entomological Society of America and will not be solicited nor require supporting documentation or supplemental information. However, originating from within the Committee does not preclude a letter from a member of the Eastern Branch requesting consideration of an individual (or group, or department of entomology) for the award. Letters should include a brief narrative as to the attributes of the candidate relating to the award. The award will not necessarily be presented annually but only when the Awards Committee deems it appropriate. There will be no limit to the number of awards that may be presented at a particular annual meeting. 

Electronic Submission Requirements

All nomination letter must be submitted electronically according to the following specifications (paper nominations will not be accepted):

  • Only the following file formats will be accepted: PDF (Adobe Portable Document Format), RTF (Rich Text Format), TIF graphic files, or JPG graphic files. Files created on either PC or MAC platforms will be accepted. Please make sure scanned images can be clearly read on a computer screen.
  • Font size for text may not be smaller than 11 point.
  • The maximum upload size is 2 MB per file.
  • Nominators are encouraged, though not required, to submit the package as one continuous document rather than as individual files.

Letters requesting consideration of potential awardees must be received by the ESA Awards Administrator via the Eastern Branch Nomination Website by Tuesday January 23, 2018 at 12:00 Midnight.

Previous recipients of this award are ineligible. 

For questions regarding the award or nomination process please email Cesar Rodriguez-Saona.

Submit a nomination
Visit the Eastern Branch Nomination Website to submit a nomination.

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: