Eastern Branch Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension

The Eastern Branch Screening Committee for Entomological Society of America Awards accepts nominations from Branch members of entomologists to be honored for National-level awards for outstanding contributions in the areas of entomology teaching and extension.

The top nominee for this award is recognized at the Eastern Branch meeting; nomination packages are then forwarded to the National office to be considered for the Society–level awards given at the Entomological Society of America’s Annual Meeting.  

Previous winners:
Please click here to see a list of those who have previously received this award.

The nominee must be a current ESA member of the Eastern Branch, and must have demonstrated excellent performance through program creativity, impact, achievement, and delivery. NOTE:  Members can only submit in one Branch each year.

Nomination Requirements:
CV- Nominators must provide a CV which includes the below sections.  For a full listing of what should be included in each of the sections see (http://www.entsoc.org/awards/cv_template).

  • Section 1 - Background Information
  • Section 4 - Extension/ Outreach
  • Section 5 - Service

Other Items -Letter of nomination that provides a brief explanation of how the individual excelled in performing his/her duties, including innovations in training, programs, and methods

Up to three letters of endorsement from professional colleagues and clientele.

Evaluation Criteria: 
Nominees/candidates will be judged using the following criteria for a total of 100 points:

Professional Background (60 points total)

  • Leadership and participation in professional activities (10)
  • Honors, awards, achievements, and recognition (7)
  • Special assignments and committee activities (10)
  • Service outside of extension, including community activities (7)
  • Grantsmanship (8)
  • Recommendation of colleagues, peer groups, etc. (8)
  • Publications (10)

Program Management (40 points total)

  • Creativity and innovation of program's concept (8)
  • Development, educational strategy (8)
  • Implementation, including publications (8)
  • Diversity of program's delivery (8)
  • Evidence of program's impact (8)

Nomination packages must be received by the ESA Awards Administrator via the Eastern Branch Nomination Website by Tuesday January 23, 2018 at 12:00 Midnight.  This deadline refers to receipt by the Awards Administrator of a complete package in a readable format.

Any candidate nominated, but not selected, may be re-nominated no more than two times within the two-year period after his/her initial submission. Nomination packages will be retained for two years by the awards administrator. Nominators must send a letter of re-nomination to the awards administrator by the nomination deadline above. Previously submitted documentation will be used for the evaluation process unless the nominator submits new or updated documents. The re-nomination e-mail must contain this additional documentation. New or updated documents must follow the electronic submission requirements noted above. Each Branch is limited to one nomination per year.

Timeline of Notification:
The eastern branch committee chair will notify all candidates and their nominators with the results of their nomination approximately two months after the nomination submission deadline.

For questions regarding the award or nomination process please email John Losey.

Submit a nomination:
Visit the Eastern Branch Nomination Website to submit a nomination.

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with: