ESA Members Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Academy membership is composed of approximately 2,100 members and 420 foreign associates.

The following current and former ESA members have been elected as members of the NAS:

Perry L. Adkisson, 1979
Barry Beaty, 2001
Stanley D. Beck, 1988
May Berenbaum, 1994
William S. Bowers, 1994
John Carlson, 2012
John Casida, 1991
George B. Craig Jr., 1983
David L. Denlinger, 2001
Thomas Eisner
Fred L. Gould, 2011
Bruce D. Hammock, 1999
Janet Hemingway, 2010
Hans Herren, 1998
John G. Hildebrand, 2007
Bert Hoelldobler, 1998
Carl Huffaker
Anthony James, 2006
Margaret G. Kidwell, 1996
Edward F. Knipling, 1966
John H. Law, 1992
Trudy Mackay, 2010
Jerrold Meinwald, 1969
Robert Metcalf
Charles Michener, 1965
Nancy A. Moran, 2004
Alexander S. Raikhel, 2009
Lynn Riddiford, 2010
Gene Robinson, 2005
Wendell Roelofs, 1985
Michael R. Strand, 2017
Max Summers, 1989
James Tumlinson, 1997
Vincent B. Wigglesworth, 1971
Carroll M. Williams, 1960
E.O. Wilson, 1969

If you know of other ESA members who have received this honor, please let us know.